Stencil Art – Making Mick

I can’t even remember what this started out as… I had begun a painting and immediately hated it (which happens almost all the time). So I decided to just mess around with a background and see what came of it.

I had wanted to do a Rolling Stones/Mick Jagger painting for a while as a tribute to my dad, so I thought why not try it out on here?

‘Mick’ came together as a 3-layer stencil. White, grey, black. 11″x14″ on canvas panel. Simple and effective, and with the starry background, I think it really spotlights the star power of this rock icon. I used Plutonium Paint (I always do) because it covers so well and hardly ever runs. Check it out.


‘Mick’ is available as a high quality poster print from my Etsy shop. Find it here

Follow killadeathspray
Instagram: @_killadeathspray_
Facebook: killadeathspray
Twitter: @killadeathspray

Leave a comment